Meet the 2023 GFA Fellows: Sandy Gonzalez

Team GFA
2 min readAug 30, 2023

--

Govern for America (GFA) is proud to introduce our fifth cohort via monthly spotlights. Each of our Fellows brings their unique insights and experiences into government positions to create a more responsive government that better reflects and serves our communities.

Sandy Gonzalez is a Budget and Policy Analyst at The Colorado Governor’s Office of State Planning and Budgeting.

About Sandy:

My name is Sandy Gonzalez, and I am a first-generation college graduate. I am from San Antonio, TX, and recently graduated from Emory University in Atlanta, GA. In my role as a Budget and Policy Analyst at The Colorado Governor’s Office of State Planning and Budgeting, I manage the funds for the Colorado Department of Human Services.

Q&A:

Why did you choose GFA?

After facing economic hardship growing up, I knew that after I graduated, I wanted to give back to communities similar to the one that helped raise me. GFA recognizes those who wish to work in public service, and I am excited to have chosen GFA to assist me in achieving my career aspirations.

What does public service mean to you?

My passion for public service stems from what it means to me on a personal level. The public service sector equips individuals with the tools they need to give back to individuals who have been historically disadvantaged or disenfranchised.

If you could change one thing about government, what would it be?

One thing I would change about government is the lack of diversity. The lack of representation of marginalized groups has contributed to the unique issues as they have been ignored. Communities would be better served if they were represented and involved in conversations that impact them.

What’s a fun fact about you?

I’ve never seen snow before.

--

--